The Professor Burns Vegas

Hello fellow readers/bloggers!

As you may know, my blog titles consist of song names. I either focus on a specific topic or epiphany that I come across, whenever I have the time to. My gripe now: video games as literature!

Think about this one for a bit: How come video games aren’t a recognized form of literature/art? I may be looking at it as something that must be HIGHLY recognized, but it won’t by a mainstream audience. Take for example: the Bioshock series!

The first one hit incredible strides in gaming! The war between Andrew Ryan and Fontaine created such a tension; a creepy tension that rattles your humanity…and the psychotic seriousness of the dialogue of the characters! As a “lamb”, you control your destiny; to fulfill the duties of one of these men, where you must fend for yourself. There’s no way that the game should be ignored! I replayed it a few times, and it still gives me such a disturbance! It makes me so…human!

Other games, such as the Metal Gear franchise, should be recognized as incredible cannons of  literature/film, that can compare to, or even destroy any novel and/or film. With incredible espionage actions and betrayals, as well as the overall structure of the story, the way its told still leaves its impression on me. There are many great turns and twists in the cannon of  Metal Gear Solid games, that you’ll still be wondering, “What the hell just happened?” If some publishing company printed the text for this game, I don’t think anybody would keep up with the story, that’s how complex it is!

The Castlevania series has been one of my favorite franchises, because it concentrates mythology in the game. You have the legend of Dracula, as well as most of the Greek myths, and in some games, it has urban legends, such as the Mothman and Bigfoot. How can you not love this game! It also includes some religious characters in it, such as the infamous Legion. His shield is made out of people, and the player has to shed the huge 1/4 layers of people in order to attack Legion! If you, as the reader, get a chance to play the game, I’d suggest playing Symphony of the Night (on the Playstation, but it’s downloadable on the PS3 and 360), then follow up with the rest of the titles on the Game Boy Advance and Nintendo DS. If you can’t find the GBA, then the DS has a slot for Advance games. So don’t worry; be happy :).

Moreover, twists and other non-fiction references in video games make video games twice as interesting and more productive, depending on the drive of the person playing the game. I played video games that concentrated on mythology and history, and I learned a lot easier and quicker than just the text. It just goes to show that visuals are equally important!

As for my lesson plan for the Watchmen, I’m starting to think about certain types of assessment for the  material. I’m probably gonna do small groups for each character. They learn about that specific character, then the groups will present the analysis of each character to the students. This could lead to debates on the specific characters’ ideals, and thought processes. I’m going to exercise other elements, such as symbolism and millennialism within the lesson too. That’s all I’ve been thinking about at this point, so I’m going to find at least a few more factors that make the Watchmen a classroom read.

On a final note…

There’s a search engine called Ecosia that donates all of its profit in order to keep the rain forests in tact. There’s a video on Facebook on their group/fan site. I found it interesting, since everybody uses Google in order to find answers to their problems and such. I’ll even admit that I collapsed under Google’s pressure, since my phone has a G-mail account, which I never use due to password issues. So Ecosia.org is a great site, if you’re sick and tired of conglomerates dominating the market.

Published in: on February 15, 2010 at 10:13 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bencraig35.wordpress.com/2010/02/15/the-professor-burns-vegas/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] his latest blog post “‘The Professor Burns Vegas’”, dated February 15 (all Ben’s posts are song titles), Ben Craig considers video games as […]


Leave a Reply

